Philadelphia Historical Commission

The function of the Philadelphia Historic Commission is to oversee any present and future sites that are designated as historically significant and to have authority over alterations made to homes in the historic district.

In Neshoba County, there are four historic sites or districts, as recognized by the National Register of Historic Places:

Nanih Waiya Cave Mound;

The Neshoba County Fairgrounds;

The Philadelphia Police Department (old U.S. Post Office) on Main Street;

The Philadelphia Historic District, a residential area along Poplar and Holland Avenues.

The goal of the Philadelphia Historic Commission is “to preserve, promote, and develop the city’s historic resources and to advise the city on the designation of historic landmarks

The Commission enforces the city’s Historic Preservation ordinance passed by the Mayor and Board of Alderman.

The city’s ordinance places limits on the types of alterations that can be made to buildings in the historical district.

Click on the link below to download design guidelines for Philadelphia.

Philadelphia Design Guidelines

Historic District Map