Top Places to Visit
Williams Brothers General Store – In 1907 The General Store was established by brothers, Amzie and Brown Williams who grew up in the community. Brown later was State Hwy Commissioner and President of the Neshoba County Fair. Amzie remained a merchant until his death in 1964. The store has served the farm and city population continuously through changing times. In 1939 National Geographic featured it as a "needles to horse collars" store. Today, groceries, shoes, clothing and farm needs such as fence posts, seed, feed and grain are in the inventory. Management is in the hands of second and third generation Williams’. An interesting historical site to visit.
Burnside Park – This division of the park system is located on Hwy 15 north, about five miles outside Philadelphia and is currently undergoing improvements. Burnside Park is a part of the parks system especially for outdoor-lovers. The park has over 110 acres of outdoor activities, including fishing, camping and hiking.
DeWeese Park – This park is located next to the Philadelphia-Neshoba County Public Library on West Beacon Street in historic downtown Philadelphia. It has a stone archway, beautiful gazebo, and is the home of the Veteran's Memorial for Neshoba County. A great place for a picnic or taking a break while shopping downtown.
Holy Rosary Catholic Church – Located 7 miles south of Philadelphia on Hwy 19 South the community was an Indian Mission founded by a Missionary Priest from Holland. Friends of Father B.J. Bekkar in Holland provided funds to build the first church, a small log structure, in 1884. From humble beginnings, in spite of fires and other adversities, Holy Rosary has grown and its missionaries also serve two missions. St. Catherine’s in Conehatta, built in 1938 and St. Therese near the Pearl River Reservation built in 1948.
Imagination Fun Station at Northside Park - Children can enjoy Imagination Fun Station, a playground constructed in fall 2000 by community volunteers. The playground has all sorts of activities, and even has a large pavilion for parties. Located on Hwy 15 N.
Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indian Reservation – In Pearl River Community, 6 miles west of Philadelphia, Hwy 16 West, is located the headquarters of the Choctaw Tribal Council, a modern medical facility, Choctaw Central High School, Choctaw Indian Museum, a Choctaw crafts store and a residential area. Dancing Rabbit, Geyser Falls Theme Park and the Pearl River Resort. www.pearlriverresort.com
Mt. Nebo Missionary Baptist Church – Visit a monument honoring three civil rights workers, James Chaney, Andrew Goodman and Michael Schwerner, slain here in 1964. Go north on Pecan Avenue. Take a left on Rea Street. Turn right at the intersection of Rea and Carver Avenue. Go three blocks and the church is on the right.
Mt. Zion United Methodist Church – This church was built in 1893, rebuilt in 1965 after it burned and rebuilt again in 1971. Take Hwy 16 East, after traveling several miles turn left on Road 747 at the Mt. Zion United Methodist Church sign. The church is located on left side of Road 747. There is a historical marker and monument honoring the civil rights workers.
Nanih Waiya Wildlife Management Area – Located on the outskirts of Philadelphia this park features over 7600 acres. It is easy to find - take Hwy 15 north from Philadelphia, to the Stallo community; take a right onto Road 832; continue on 832 until you see a Nanih Waiya WMA Sign on your right, turn right into the headquarters access.
Neshoba County Coliseum – The most versatile multi-purpose facility in East Mississippi – the perfect place for any number of events. The facility's main arena features nearly 38,000 sq. ft. of customizable space surrounded by a 21,116 sq. ft. concourse. An air conditioned meeting room with full kitchen facilities is available, and event organizers have access to a state-of-the-art sound room and production office, plus a full service kitchen, comprehensive concession facilities and a first aid station. The coliseum also features a 94-stall livestock barn.
Neshoba County Fairgrounds – Located 7 miles southwest of Philadelphia on Hwy 21 South, this unique campground was founded in 1889 and in 1980 was placed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Neshoba County Fair, also known as "Mississippi's Giant Houseparty" and the "Battleground of Mississippi Politics" convenes for a week around July/August every year an unforgettable experience for those who attend. The racing program of the Fair is held on the oldest licensed race track in the state and features running races and roadster/bike races for trotter and pacers. www.neshobacountyfair.org
Philadelphia / Neshoba County Public Library – Located at 230 Beacon Street. Childrens area, study booths, rocking chairs to relax while you read and computers for research.
Neshoba Lake – This lake is located off Highway 486, east of Philadelphia, approximately 8 miles. Covering 225 acres, this lake offers a boat ramp and 25 overnight camping hook-ups.
Philadelphia Historical Downtown Shopping District - Enjoy browsing in the many specialty shops in and around the square.
Philadelphia’s Historic Homes – The Philadelphia Historic District is an architecturally significant residential neighborhood that documents the “boom time” of a small rural city in the early part of the 20th Century.
Philadelphia-Neshoba County Arts Council Theatre - Restoration of the historic Ellis Theater is well under way. Soon it will be transformed into the Philadelphia-Neshoba County Visual and Performing Arts Theatre. The renovation and restoration process of the 1920s building will be completed in phases. The first phase includes enlarging the restrooms and improvements to the lobby and concession area. Future phases will include other interior improvements such as seating, as well as exterior building and marquee improvements.
Philadelphia-Neshoba County Historical Museum – The Philadelphia-Neshoba County Historical Museum, Inc. was organized in 1992 as a site for preserving the history of Neshoba County and Philadelphia. The museum was built shortly after the Civil War by George Pegram Woodward. It was most recently known as the Fields house, after the family that lived there for almost seventy years. The museum was opened on June 22, 1993.
Sciple’s Mill – First water mill in Kemper County is over 200 years old and has been owned by the Sciple family for 140 years and is still operated by them.
Ye Ole Drug Store Deli – Customers and visitors can step back to the early days of the 20th Century with authentic cabinetry/fixtures and enjoy the old drugstore sandwiches and fountain. Located on the square in Philadelphia.